“I can’t sleep.”- Writing prompt #1

“I can’t sleep,” she whispered, crawling into bed with me.

“Close the window,” I replied, shifting my weight to allow her room.

She lifted the blankets and my melatonin soaked brain only half registered the brief rustle of the sheets and the quick influx of cool air under the covers. I could feel her soft fingertips dance lightly across my arm, as she folded herself into my back: a crescent moon embrace.

It was October 7th.

It had been a particularly emotional day and we were both still reeling from the strain. Eyes swollen, throats sore and limbs stiff from shaking in the brisk autumn air but her familiar scent was comforting and settling into her, I was surrounded by the smell of lavender and patchouli. Her soft inhalations and exhalations threatened to sooth me into slumber.

I would never be closer to her nor farther from her, then I was right then. Because it was October 7th and I was sleeping with ghosts. I was sleeping with her ghost. I struggled to hold onto the fleeting feeling of her pressed against my back and her warm breath on my neck…

I woke up cold, clutching the dress she was buried in.

7 comments on ““I can’t sleep.”- Writing prompt #1

  1. Looking forward to following your blog!

    Like

  2. This was a story that I could definitely pitcure in my head. Really well written! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Abeer says:

    I liked what I read. Beautiful 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment